Reserve Needs and Key Words

Catalyst and Science Transfer projects supported by the National Estuarine Research Reserve System (NERRS) Science Collaborative must address a management or science transfer need expressed by one or more reserves engaged in the project. This page lists key words that describe reserves’ 2022-2023 management and science transfer needs. Key words are organized alphabetically by region, then by reserve. 

Potential applicants are encouraged to review the key words and the full details of the reserves' management and science transfer needs in the PDF below. The individual listed for each reserve or topic may be contacted to discuss the current needs and opportunities for collaboration. There may be situations where a need is identified with reserve partner(s) after the annual list of needs is compiled, particularly for multi-reserve projects. These emergent needs can be accommodated by the 2023 Catalyst / Science Transfer RFP. In such cases, the process for identifying the need should be clearly articulated in the narrative, and confirmed by relevant reserve(s) in a letter of support. 

Download PDF: Detailed 2023 Reserve Management & Science Transfer Needs

Key words by region:


Caribbean Region

Jobos Bay, Puerto Rico | Contact: Angel Dieppa, Research Coordinator, adieppa.jbnerr@gmail.com

  1. Seagrass; Invasive species; Endoparasites; Ecology
  2. Corals; SCTLD; Restoration
  3. Mangroves; Resilience; Socioeconomic; Services
  4. Restoration; Resilience; Living Shorelines
  5. SWMP; Water Quality; Data Management; Modeling

Great Lakes Region

Lake Superior, Wisconsin | Contact: Deanna Erickson, Manager, deanna.erickson@wisc.edu

  1. Mapping; Habitat; Restoration; Tool
  2. Drivers; Change; Monitoring; Synthesis
  3. Data accessibility
  4. Biocultural; Restoration; Experiential
  5. Stressors; Climate change; Pollution

Old Woman Creek, Ohio | Contact: Janice Kerns, Manager, Janice.Kerns@dnr.ohio.gov

  1. Policy; Sustainable Development; Water Resources; Human Dimensions
  2. Soil; Sedimentation; Erosion; Carbon
  3. Marine debris; Single-use plastics; Great Lakes debris; Circular economy; Water quality
  4. Habitat suitability; Habitat preference; Fish; Model
  5. Phenology; Citizen science; Species monitoring; Keystone species; Indicator species

Gulf of Mexico Region

Apalachicola, FloridaContact: Jennifer Harper, Manager, Jennifer.Harper@dep.state.fl.us

  1. Fisheries; Ecosystem services
  2. Socioeconomic; Ecosystem services; Social
  3. Climate; Storm; Heat; Sea level rise
  4. Shoreline stabilization; Erosion; Ecosystem services
  5. Communications; Behavior change

Grand Bay, Mississippi | Contact: Ayesha Gray, Manager, ayesha.gray@dmr.ms.gov

  1. Restoration; Effectiveness; Monitoring data
  2. Water quality; Ecological processes; Hydrology; Dynamics
  3. Flora; Fauna; Population change
  4. Socio-economic indicators; Ecosystem services; Green infrastructure
  5. Trophic interactions; Ecosystem functions; Food webs

Mission-Aransas, TexasContact: Jace Tunnell, Manager, jace.tunnell@austin.utexas.edu

  1. Marine debris; plastics; Trash; Impacts
  2. Sediment; Elevation; Restoration; Barrier Island
  3. Habitat; Protection; Development; Erosion
  4. eDNA; Sound; Invasive; Biodiversity
  5. SWMP; SET; Managers

Rookery Bay, Florida | Contact: Keith Laakkonen, Manager, Keith.Laakkonen@floridadep.gov

  1. Vulnerability; Assessment; Planning; Disaster response
  2. Natural resources; Ecosystem-based management; Human dimensions
  3. Ditching; Hydrology; Community impacts
  4. National; Habitat; Water quality
  5. Outreach; Private landowner engagement; Climate; Pollution; Wildlife

Weeks Bay, Alabama | Contact: Angela Underwood, Manager, angela.underwood@dcnr.alabama.gov

  1. Marsh migration; Living shoreline
  2. Social science; Community resilience
  3. Marine debris
  4. Prescribed fire; Invasive species; Marsh migration

Mid-Atlantic Region

Chesapeake Bay, Maryland | Contact: Kyle Derby, Research Coordinator, Kyle.Derby@maryland.gov

  1. Blue Carbon; Wetland Migration; Sea Level Rise; Coastal Resilience
  2. Community Engagement; DEIJ; Environmental Justice; Social Science
  3. Environmental Restoration; Monitoring; Beneficial Use; Adaptive Management
  4. Submerged Aquatic Vegetation; Benthic Habitat; Fisheries; Ecosystem Services

Chesapeake Bay, Virginia | Contact: Carl Friedrichs, Research Coordinator, Carl.Friedrichs@vims.edu

  1. Wetlands; Seagrass; Restoration; Carbon sequestration
  2. Algal blooms; HABs; Toxins; Aquaculture
  3. Nutrients; Sediments; Oxygen; Water clarity
  4. Conservation; Marsh birds; Community science; Resource management
  5. Community; Conservation; Behavior change; Human dimensions

Delaware | Contact: Christina Whiteman, Research Coordinator, Christina.Whiteman@delaware.gov

  1. Bioacoustics; Biodiversity; Faunal changes
  2. Marsh birds; Population decline; Conservation
  3. Vernal pool; Analysis; Forested wetlands
  4. Valuation; Community; Visitor use; Accessibility
  5. Virtual reality; Conservation; Education

Hudson River, New York | Contact: Sarah Fernald, Research Coordinator, Sarah.Fernald@dec.ny.gov

  1. Outreach; Climate; Marginalized groups; Environmental justice
  2. Submerged aquatic vegetation; Vallisneria americana; Restoration
  3. Salt front; Drinking water; Freshwater tidal habitats; SWMP data

Jacques Cousteau, New Jersey | Contact: Lisa Auermuller, Assistant Manager, Auermull@marine.rutgers.edu

  1. Bioacoustics; Animal composition; Species biodiversity
  2. Nature-based solutions; Living shorelines; Beneficial use; Resilience
  3. Predictive models; Ecosystem dynamics; Water quality; Habitat quality
  4. Community resilience; Technical assistance; Evaluation; Resilience metrics
  5. Human dimensions; Values; Social science

Northeast Region

Connecticut | Contact: Jamie Vaudrey, Research Coordinator, jamie.vaudrey@uconn.edu

  1. Environmental justice; Green infrastructure; Stormwater
  2. Blue carbon; Economic valuation; Biogeochemical processes; Living shorelines
  3. Nutrient load mitigation strategies; Macroalgal and microalgal harmful algal blooms; Hypoxia
  4. Habitat restoration; Eelgrass restoration and assisted migration; Marsh resilience; Invasive species interactions

Great Bay, New Hampshire | Contact: Cory Riley, Manager, Cory.A.Riley@wildlife.nh.gov

  1. Climate change; Ecosystem function; Habitat
  2. Pollution; Nitrogen; Contaminants; Water quality
  3. Restoration; Oysters; Eelgrass; Saltmarsh
  4. Data analysis; Data visualization; Forecasting
  5. Outreach; Private landowner engagement; Climate; Pollution; Wildlife

Narragansett Bay, Rhode Island | Contact: Caitlin Chaffee, Manager, Caitlin.chaffee@dem.ri.gov

  1. Climate change; Resilience; Habitat; Community
  2. Ecosystem services; Behavior change; Management
  3. Habitat; Resilience; Wildlife; Restoration
  4. Stormwater; Water quality; Management; BMPs
  5. Monitoring; Trends analysis; Management; SWMP

Waquoit Bay, Massachusetts | Contact: Tonna-Marie Rogers, Manager, Tonna-Marie.surgeon-rogers@mass.gov

  1. Climate impacts; Freshwater inputs; Nutrient management; Monitoring data
  2. Restoration; Ecosystem services; Biogeochemical processes; Management
  3. Nutrient pollution; Water quality; Solutions; Aquaculture
  4. Coastal hazards; Habitat resilience; Best management practices; Risk reduction
  5. Sea level rise, Marsh resilience, Ecosystem services, Adaptation

Wells, Maine | Contact: Jason Goldstein, Research Director, Jgoldstein@wellsnerr.org

  1. Biophysical monitoring; Invasive species; Anthropogenic impacts; Bioacoustic telemetry; eDNA
  2. Climate change; Coastal resilience; Social, economic, and behavioral impacts; Biosensors
  3. Ecosystem service approach; Sentinel site; Data science; Estuarine and marsh restoration and protection
  4. Land use change; Eutrophication; Contamination; Water chemistry; Nutrients
  5. Habitat resilience; Restoration science; Living shorelines

Southeast Region

ACE Basin, South CarolinaContact: Julie Binz, Manager, Binzj@dnr.sc.gov

  1. Sea level rise; Adaptation strategies; Climate change; Salt marsh
  2. Stormwater; Water quality; Best practices; Barriers
  3. Salt marsh health; Synthesis; Restoration; Habitat resilience
  4. Data synthesis; Water quality; Integrated assessment; Modeling

Guana Tolomato Matanzas, Florida | Contact: Lia Sansom, Manager, Lia.Sansom@floridadep.gov

  1. Groundwater; Saltwater; Intrusion; Migration
  2. Sediment; Elevation; Restoration; Barrier Island

North Carolina | Contact: Rebecca Ellin, Manager, Rebecca.Ellin@ncdenr.gov

  1. Sediment dynamics; Vulnerability; Resilience
  2. Habitat mapping; Benthic; Methods
  3. Water quality; System-wide Monitoring Program

North Inlet-Winyah Bay, South Carolina | Contact: Erik Smith, Manager, Erik@baruch.sc.edu

  1. Marsh; Vulnerability; Sea level rise
  2. Natural resources; Ecosystem-based management; Human dimensions
  3. Urbanization; Stormwater; Best management practices
  4. Marsh; Oyster reef; Restoration; Monitoring techniques
  5. Data synthesis; Integrated assessments; Interacting effects

Sapelo Island, Georgia | Contact: Doug Samson, Manager, Doug.Samson@dnr.ga.gov

  1. Impacts; Natural resources; Coastal communities
  2. Local community; Flooding; Resilience
  3. Ditching; Hydrology; Community impacts
  4. Fish monitoring; Training; Public education; Citizen scientists

West Coast Region

Elkhorn Slough, California | Contact: Kerstin Wasson, Kerstin.Wasson@gmail.com, for natural science questions | Dan Brumbaugh, dan@elkhornslough.org, for social science and policy questions

  1. Restoration; Recovery; Resilience
  2. Eutrophication; Invasion; Diking
  3. Sea-level rise; Adaptation; Resilience; Community
  4. National; Habitat; Water quality

Kachemak Bay, Alaska | Contact: Coowe Walker, Cmwalker9@alaska.edu for climate change and water quality questions | Syverine Bentz, isbentz@alaska.edu for ecosystem services questions | Steve Baird, sjbaird@alaska.edu for monitoring data synthesis questions

  1. Climate; Humans; Applications; Data
  2. Cultural; Ecosystems; Conservation; Communities
  3. Water; Land uses; Management; Population growth
  4. Monitoring; Datasets; Analysis; Management

Padilla Bay, Washington | Contact: Jude Apple, Manager, Japple@padillabay.gov

  1. Climate change; Eelgrass; Sociocultural systems; Resilience
  2. Blue carbon; Ecosystem services; Eelgrass; Sociocultural systems
  3. Restoration; Resilience; Agricultural practices; Eelgrass
  4. Data synthesis; Data literacy, Education, Land use
  5. Land use; Contamination; Agriculture; Carbon sequestration

San Francisco Bay, California | Contact: Stuart Siegel, Interim Manager, Siegel@sfsu.edu

  1. Nature-based solutions; Resiliency; Adaptive management; Living shorelines
  2. Oysters; Living shorelines
  3. Invasive species; Feral pigs; Invasive plants
  4. Nature-based adaptation; Community engagement; Education; Training; Equity

South Slough, Oregon | Contact: Shon Schooler, Research Coordinator, Shon.Schooler@state.or.us

  1. Climate change; Habitats; Species, Resilience
  2. Ecosystem services; Native species; Sustainability
  3. Ocean acidification; Land-use; Invasive species
  4. Restoration effectiveness; Invasive species; Evaluation
  5. Synthesis; Modelling; Summarize

Tijuana River, California | Contact: Jeff Crooks, Research Coordinator, JCrooks@trnerr.org

  1. Restoration; Monitoring; Habitats; Species
  2. Sediment; Beneficial Re-use; Restoration
  3. Marine Debris; Management; Plastics
  4. Inlet; Tidal Prism; Ocean-Estuary Exchange
  5. Climate Change; Socio-ecological system

Pacific Region

Heʻeia, Hawaiʻi | Contact: Shimi Rii, Research Coordinator, Shimi@hawaii.edu

  1. Biocultural; Restoration; Experiential; Models; Applications
  2. Climate change; Drivers; Habitat change
  3. Collaborative educational programming; Coordination; Capacity; Knowledge systems
  4. Indigenous resource management tools; Training; Skills; Technology